Birthday recap

Hey there!

I cringed a little when I wrote that title, mostly because it suggests that I’m big into my Birthday and, frankly, I’m not.  Zach and I both share January birthdays and we joke about getting a half-birthday-month each, but that’s just in jest.  Our bdays are just too close to the holidays (same for poor bean)…oh and we’re getting old too, so yeah…

What I want out of a birthday (or any day for that matter) is at the end of it to feel like it was a good day.  And I’d say last Thursday was exactly that.

I was highly productive at work, took off a couple of hours early to browse some stores, get a latte, and then get a pedi.  I came home to a very chipper Bean, flowers from my bestie, and soon after Thai and cupcakes from Zach:

photo 2

Yes, those are little shoes on the cupcakes.  I had the coconut and pawned off the rest on Zach’s coworkers. 

Saturday night I had lovely plans with my friend Mojan to hit up the city to see a parody of 50 Shades of Grey.  We visited a (new to me) wine bar called Amelie.  Loved it.  They had fantastic happy hour specials and I tried a hefty assortment of tastes.  Seriously so good.  The show was hilarious. Just 3 actors, essentially Christian Grey, Ana Steele, and the author.  They definitely knew what to make fun of.  One of the best part of the nights?  Getting to wear my beloved saucy red heels:

Photos

And Sunday was lovely as well, despite finding out I have to cough up $500 to fix my MacBook (screen is cracked).  I made some fabulous (lower cal) pumpkin scones and a delish lentil soup. 

photo

So all in all, nothing too crazy, but a lot of nice little things that made the whole weekend pretty darn spectacular.

Let’s hope the rest of the week goes the same way ;)

20 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

20 responses to “Birthday recap

  1. I’m glad you had a good birthday!!
    I love the idea of a 50 Shades parody. There are just so many places you can go with something like that.

  2. Sounds like my type of birthday. Since graduating high school (5 years ago LOL), I’ve really just mellowed down. I thrive so much on quiet and relaxing birthdays.

  3. That sounds like a great birthday! There’s a 50 shades parody in my city too and I’m still trying to decide whether or not to go see it. Do you recommend it?

  4. Oh man, those cupcakes look amazing!!!!

  5. Sounds like a lovely birthday! A nice mix of girly things, Thai, and cupcakes. You can’t go wrong with that! So glad you had a wonderful time celebrating you pretty lady! :)

  6. LOVE your outfit – Where is the top from??

    Those cupcakes look so delicious – I wouldn’t have been able to say no the other 11.

    Happy Belated Shanna!

  7. Glad you had a fun birthday and got to do the things that make you happy!

  8. Priya

    Low cal scones?? There were just deelish! Thanks for sharing, as always. Hope you are going to post the recipe sometime soon.

  9. It sounds like a perfect birthday weekend to me! I’m not a huge fan of over-the-top celebrations either; my best birthdays have been those spent with good friends and family, enjoying favorite activities (pedis and delicious meals included, of course!). So glad you had a fun time!

    LOVE the red heels! Where are they from?

  10. I have co workers who have talked about going to a 50 shades parody, that sounds fun, and as we’ve discussed before… very easy to make fun of! absolutely love your outfit, esp the “fury/feathery” top!!

  11. Erin

    OMG you have a baby! I use to read your blog back a couple of years ago (my old blog was erinsloves). I just recently started blogging again and found yours! So happy for you, I have a little one too!

  12. Yay! Glad you had a good day. :) I was just looking at that wine bar the other day. I am supposed to help plan a bachelorette party in San Fran for this summer, and I have no idea where to start. Never been there! It sounds like this one makes the cut though.

  13. Happy Belated Birthday to you!! Love all the pictures.

  14. Andrea

    I went to go see Spanked this past weekend and loved it. So sassy! Miss ya girl.

Leave a Reply

