In a nutshell

Hey there

How was your weekend?

Mine went by lightning fast, thanks to a packed agenda.  Friday I met up with my lovely friend Shayla — it had been far too long and we had a great time gabbing while shopping.  She bought some adorable gifts for Bean that I will have to show when he wears them.  Thank you Shayla!

Friday night, I finally acquiesced to Zach and watched the Hunger Games.  I haven’t read the books and really have/had no desire to.  I’m not big on that genre of books.  So I agreed to watch the movie, since I heard it was well done.  I hated it.  HATED it.  What a sick, sick premise.  I really had no idea that I’d be watching a plot of masterminds pitting children against one another to fight to the death.  I had to stop watching about an hour in.  I’m rather shocked that so many people have enjoyed these books and this movie.  This seems crazy for me to say since I love reading True Crime, psychological thrillers, etc, but for some reason, this really disturbed me.  Am I the only one???

Saturday we had the honor of attending our friend’s baby’s first birthday!  Yes it is already that time.  One of the little boys in my mommy group has officially become a toddler.  She did a fabulous job of creating a fun kid and adult party full of amazing food, vino, toys, etc.  It gave me some great ideas for Bean’s upcoming 1st bday ;)

Sunday was more busy-ness as we had plans to meet our friends and there little 4 month old at Green’s Restaurant in SF.

(Yes that is a bloody mary)
Bean was feeling very serious as we waited for our table:

I have to wonder, how have I never been here?  It was fabulous.  An all vegetarian restaurant right in the Marina with fabulous views.  We ordered some buttermilk biscuits, a lemon blackberry scone, and walnut banana bread to start. I kept it light with the minestrone soup as my meal and am sort of regretting not getting Zach’s dish of ciabatta French toast with warm maple syrup.  I must return here.

We walked off our meal afterward and was treated to a pretty damn good view:

That was my weekend in a nutshell.  Mostly pretty great, minus that horrid movie :P

Here’s to a busy work week!

19 Comments

Filed under Reviews

19 responses to “In a nutshell

  1. I never read scifi, but Hunger Games is one of those books (I’d put in the category with some Jodi Picoult books) where the topic is awful and I would never want to read about it if I just read the back, but I read the book for the amazing writing style that sucks me in on page one and makes me think about things, like society, relationships, etc differently. So I can see how just watching the movie can really turn you off from the whole premise.
    In other news, you no longer have a baby, but a little man! Wow he’s so big!
    And p.s. I’m so jealous you got to see Shayla, I really miss her blog!

  2. Oh I’m so jealous! I love san fran!! I went there a couple years ago and felt like there just wasn’t enough time to see everything! Sounds like a great restaurant and bean is adorable! Growing so fast!!

  3. That serious picture is so cute! I wonder what he’s thinking about. :)

    And with the Hunger Games, the movie bothered me more than the books. Not sure why but seeing the premise come alive on screen was disturbing.

  4. Love that little sweater bean has on! What a cutie.

    I can never pass up french toast – How do you restrain yourself from that!?!?

    I never read the Hunger games book but I did see the movie. I liked it but I never saw it in the perspective you did until you said that. Maybe its your mommy instincts.

  5. You know, I do wonder if that’s part of it..now that I have a lil one, it’s just too much to see children hurting, in pain, evil-minded, etc.

  6. Love when I find a new great restaurant! Glad it was a good weekned lady!

  7. Looks like a glorious weekend to me. Glad everything went well for you! That photo of the lil one! The weekend went by way to fast!

  8. Priya

    I think Bean’s expression says “humph – late comers”! But he was such a good sport about it. :-)

  9. I never read the Hunger Games books either. I don’t get the big deal around them, and have no interest in ever trying to figure it out.

  10. Haha, you know I don’t think you’re the only one who didn’t like the Hunger Games. I read all the books and saw the movie and really liked them all (actually, I liked the movie better, which never happens) – they didn’t bother me because I think I went into them expecting them to be a commentary on society and how f’ed up things could get in such a severe dystopia rather than a gratuitous bloodbath, you know? Other than that, I’m glad you had a good weekend!

  11. Okay, I’ll admit it. I actually kind of liked the books, but I hated the movie. It was just so darn ugly.

  12. I’m glad I’m not the only one who didn’t love the Hunger Games. I didn’t think the movie was poorly done, but I agree, the whole idea of it just kind of didn’t sit well with me.

  13. So I LOVED the Hunger Games books (or at least the first one) but the movie was terrible. Terrible! Sorry you felt the same way.

Leave a Reply

