Pumpkin in July

Hey friends!

We survived another weekend and if you were me, it would be just barely.  You see, I had a particularly tough personal training session on Saturday morning and somehow didn’t refuel enough throughout the day.  Then I indulged in a few glasses of wine over several hours at a going away/engagement party and, well, I ended up feeling like crap Sunday!  I couldn’t even make it to my 9a spin class.  Argh.  But I did manage to eek out 25  min of high intensity on the elliptical along with some ab work.  Somethin’ is better than nothin’ right?

The mother’s group I hosted on Friday was lovely!  I wish I would have taken a pic of the spread, but suffice it to say the chocolate fudge donuts went over quite well Winking smile

Best part of the weekend?  My bestie is in Cali for the week to visit her family and show off tater tot!  She, her hubby and the tot spent last night with us and will spend Friday night with us.  And it also just happened to be A’s birthday a couple weeks ago so per her request, I made a pumpkin cake!

I followed this recipe for Pumpkin Dump Cake with only minor mods: no nuts, an added dash (or two) of cinnamon, and dark chocolate chips instead of toffee (bestie loves dark chocolate).  And I used ~4 full graham crackers to get the 1 cup coarsely chopped.  My cake took about 53 min at 350 deg.  Check it out:

005006

008

Pumpkin in July was a huge hit! Open-mouthed smile

Oh and I wanted to say thank you for the supportive comments on my last post about mother’s guilt.   It is a dialogue I’d like to probe into more and perhaps find some solutions to alleviate this guilt many of us are experiencing.

What can you eat despite the season?  Pumpkin is an obvious one for me as is froyo in December

11 Comments

Filed under Recipes

11 responses to “Pumpkin in July

  1. I say, pumpkin is good ANY time! haha

    I love how versatile it is with baking! I bet that cake was awesome!

  2. I have always wanted to make this recipe! Looks fantastic!

  3. Sounds like a fun weekend and an amazing cake. Totally drool worthy!

  4. Andrea

    This was soooooo tasty. I don’t know if the leftovers are going to make it to Mindy’s house. Mmmm :)

  5. That would be a lot of pumpkin cake to eat on the drive! :P

  6. I’m currently cleaning out our freezer. That means I will be having soup at some point. And yes, it’s 95 degrees outside right now…

  7. I actually just had pumpkin pancakes for breakfast today. Great minds think alike. That looks so good!

  8. I love pumpkin! This looks delicious!! I def need to add this to the recipe binder :) thanks for sharing! <3 Sam
    http://Www.loosingweightgaininglife.com

Leave a Reply

