Daily Archives: March 27, 2012

Pregnancy–another look (part 1)

Hello blends!  It’s been a while since I guest posted on Shanna’s blog, so for those of you who don’t know me, I’m S’s bestie who relocated to Boston a year and a half ago.  We were lucky enough to get engaged on the exact same day (not planned), married only 4 months apart (ok that was planned), and also get pregnant 4 months apart (not really planned, though we were both "trying").  What can I say, we like to do things together! Smile

 012

Well since S has filled you in on the wonder that was her pregnancy and birth will the little Soybean, she thought it might be cool to give you another pregnancy story.  It’s amazing how two similar ladies, both pregnant with little boys, can have such different experiences!

Unlike S, I had really icky morning sickness for the first 3 months of my pregnancy.  My diet consisted of mostly crackers during the day, and cheesy rice at night.  Sounds fun doesn’t it?  I never actually threw up, it was just like being extremely hungover for 3 months.  Let’s just say work over that period was a real struggle.  I kept thinking, how do women do this?  And just when I started to enjoy my second trimester and being able to eat more regularly, I got sick, not once, not twice, but FOUR times.  Oye.  One I think was a bad reaction to the Tdap vaccine, one was a violent stomach flu, and one was a cold that lasted more than 3 weeks.  Sad smile

I finally started to pull through all the icky times near the end of my second trimester.  Throughout the first and second trimesters I was on the low side or around average for weight gain.  But once I got feeling better, I really started to eat.  I mean, really really eat.  Every time I went grocery shopping it was like a kid that just got back from fat camp.  I would pick up all sorts of treats that I would never normally eat, like a canister of Pillsbury cinnamon rolls – which doesn’t sound all that bad until you hear that I baked them on a Sunday and consumed the ENTIRE batch before noon.  Uh, that can’t be normal right?  Well, all that wonderful indulgence means that I gained 44 lbs throughout my pregnancy (I’m currently at week 36 and seem to have stopped both the crazy overeating and the rapid weight gain).  The average woman gains 25-35 lbs, so 44 is certainly *above* average, and not in an "oooh I got an A+" kind of way. Winking smile Luckily I’m 5’7", so although I feel like a whale, I carry the weight rather well and am able to convince the unknowing bystander that it’s all belly.  It’s not, but who am I to correct them? 

—-

Stay tuned for part 2 of my bestie‚Äôs story.  She recently got some very interesting (?) news!

5 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized