Daily Archives: January 16, 2012

2+ weeks postpartum

Hey hey friends, how was your weekend?

The days are blending together for me, but the weekends are still nice because it means people are around to play with me (and the lil man!). 

Jan 13 2012Jan 14 2012

We spent Saturday cheering for the 49ers and their incredible last minute win.  Such a good game.  And thanks to our friends Dan and Kate who came over equipped with groceries to cook us a meal.  Awesome!

I mentioned last Friday that it’s time to kick my bootie into gear after having Sawyer.  I’ve been semi-cleared by the doctor to be somewhat active and with that means reining in the horrendous eating.  Yes I can still indulge, but no more binge eating.

Though I realize I’m only 19 days postpartum, I’m feeling a little down about my body.  Again, this is my feeling.  And the reason for it is because I have assumed that I could eat whatever I want and breastfeeding would just melt the pounds off.  So not true.  I should know better than to assume there is an easy fix.  It takes discipline and hard work. 

My good friend Laury just wrote a fabulous post about Body Image After Baby and I really resonate with what she wrote.  Check it out!

So, now what? 

Now I resume my healthier lifestyle and get moving more.  This will mean long(er) walks using the Bjorn or the stroller and reduced snacking with more balanced meals.  I’ve already noticed that eating is tough with the soybean since he tends to want to eat when I do, so I just wolf down my food.  I think I can eat a few bites, feed him, and then nuke my meal when he’s done so I’m not scarfing it down and reaching for a snack immediately after.

I also mentioned last week that I’ll be tracking calories.  For me, this helps me account for all my eats.  Because breastfeeding is estimated to burn approximately 500 additional calories per day, I am going to target 2100 calories for my daily intake.  If I find myself starving or low on energy, I will increase the calorie take accordingly.  And per usual, I will have more calories on the weekend cuz that’s how I roll Winking smile

Alrighty, so here are the stats as of January 16, 2012, 19 days postpartum:

  • Weight: +13 pounds
  • Ribcage: 30”
  • Waist (bellybutton): 32”
  • Hips: 35.5”
  • Right Bicep: 11”
  • Left Bicep: 10”
  • Right Thigh: 21”
  • Left Thigh: 22”
    (all measurements at widest part)

And wow, I feel very vulnerable right now.  Ugh.  But by putting out the honest numbers, I know I will work that much harder to see them come down – in a healthy, maintainable way.

Here are two photos I took on Friday, 16 days postpartum (casual clothes for sitting at home with Sawyer all day):

Jan 13 2012 1Jan 13 2012 2

If you have any good at-home (mild) workouts, please send me a link or offer suggestions.

32 Comments

Filed under Baby O