WIAW: 1st time making Indian food

Happy Thanksgiving Eve! And Happy Wednesday!  And Happy last-day-of-work-before-maternity-leave to me! Open-mouthed smile

I made mention that I had an Indian cooking extravaganza this weekend so I figured I’d feature it for What I Ate Wednesday (WIAW) (courtesy of Peas and Crayons of course)

wiawphotobutton

And before I get started, a huge thanks to our friend Priya for guiding the 6 of us through this meal Smile  I’m not going through through directions, because, well, frankly I don’t remember Smile with tongue out so you’ll just have to get an idea from the ingredients and photos!

Dahi (yogurt) Paapdi Chaat:

  • Potatoes (2-4 small )
  • 1 can of garbanzo beans
  • 1 small red onion
  • Chaat masala
  • Cilantro for garnish
  • Nirav coriander chutney (green/spicy chutney)
  • Deep-brand tamarind date chutney (sweet)
  • Sev (Deep brand)
  • Papdi (like crispy puris)

012 (13)

My thoughts – super easy to make, tons of great flavor, and wonderful app.  We omitted the Nirav coriandar chutney because I forgot to buy it and the replacement was too sweet.  I also don’t think it needed yogurt.  Really enjoyed the leftovers served warm.

Samosas:

  • Potatoes (5-6 small )
  • Frozen peas (2 cups ish)
  • Fennel seeds
  • Cumin seeds
  • Turmeric (Hindi word is Haldi)
  • Ginger
  • Green chillis
  • Puff Pastry Sheets

017 (12)

My thoughts – love these!  So did Zach and everyone else.  Using a pre-made puff pastry makes them infinitely easier to make at home and no frying required.  Just bake!  Bursting with flavor.  Love.

Kadhai Paneer (doubled recipe):

  • 2 cups paneer, cubed
  • Half a  green bell pepper, cubed
  • 1 large onion
  • 2 green chillies
  • 3-4 pods of garlic, crushed
  • 1" piece of ginger, crushed (or 1tsp ginger garlic paste)
  • 1 tomato, pureed
  • 1 tbsp tomato paste (or another pureed tomato)
  • A generous pinch of kasuri methi / dried fenugreek leaves
  • 1 tsp red chilli powder
  • A pinch of turmeric powder
  • 1/2 tsp jeera / cumin seeds
  • 1 tsp coriander powder / dhania powder / malli podi
  • 2 tsp oil
  • Salt to taste
  • Chopped cilantro leaves to garnish

027 (8)

My thoughts – Yum yum yum!  I have a new obsession with paneer and love that it cooks and incorporates just like firm tofu.  I am going to be adding this to a ton of stuff.  This dish had some kick (thanks to the chilis) – just the way I like it Winking smile

Rajma (daal made with kidney beans):

  • 2 16Oz cans of red-kidney beans
  • 1.5 Onions
  • 3-4 Tomatoes
  • Garam malasa
  • 1-2 Bay leaves
  • 1/2 Cinnamon stick
  • Cilantro for garnish
  • Coriander powder
  • Red chili powder

026 (7)

My thoughts – this dish was great and was best with the warm naan served beside it.  We literally pureed the onions in a blender which I thought was a really interesting way to create the base. 

The spread:

025 (7)028 (4)

Photos of our efforts in progress:

019 (10)018 (9)013 (13)014 (15)015 (13)010 (18)024 (8)

And a nice little photo of what happens when you are 35 weeks pregnant – you inevitably spill on your belly and your hubby thinks it’s funny if your dog licks it off you (she did btw).

021 (12)

I loved having this cooking experience at home!  It was a first for me and I felt really at ease with all styles and ingredients.  You better believe I’ll be making plenty more Indian food from home Open-mouthed smile

What’s your favorite Indian dish to make at home?

Is there are genre of food you haven’t yet tried to cook yourself but want to?

 

32 Comments

Filed under Recipes, WIAW

32 responses to “WIAW: 1st time making Indian food

  1. That all looks so delicious! I love love love Indian food, and I never make it from scratch. Any chance Priya could write up some directions?

  2. I’ve just come back from India and brought some chai with me – am excited to see whether it works in London too! Am also going to have a go at making paratha…love Indian food SO much – thanks for the inspiration to try something new though, and good luck with the last few weeks of pregnancy.

  3. You’re adorable and the food looks amazing – you went all out!

  4. I love samosas, they are always a must when we go for Indian. I normally make channa masala at home or red daal lentils, but I really need to try some new things apparently!

  5. All of these recipes look amazing!! I love Indian food :D

  6. Sara Grambusch

    Looks great! Indian food is on my agenda soon too. I have some masala spice that’s been kicking around for a while.

  7. Everything looks so good!
    I’ve never even had Indian food but have been dying to so I must get to it! I eat all different ethnicities of food but never Indian. What’s taking me so long?

  8. That looks like a good time. Fun! The paneer sounds delicious!

  9. that picture is so oddly cute! love candids. even if they involve a mess

  10. Priya

    Thanks Shan & Z for hosting us and a very special mention goes out to Naava for all the entertainment she provided! :-)

  11. i LOVE indian food! i’ve only ever made channa masala but it was SO SO good. so worth it!

  12. Wow-I could not even imagine trying to make Indian food! That looks so good though!

    I love the candid shot at the end too!

  13. Yum – everything looks amazing. I love Indian food so much, and samosas are on my must make list. They’re so good.

  14. Looks like a day of good eats!

  15. Such a gorgeous spread of Indian food! I absolutely love making Indian inspired dishes – my favourite dish to make is chickpea spinach and butternut squash curry. I also love chana masala but I’ve never made it myself.

  16. Oh my god I just realized I accidentally deleted you from my reader (I meant to delete the blog above yours)!! I thought you’d been MIA all week. Phew, problem solved. The Indian food all looks great!

  17. Oh my goodness – this looks amazing and it sounds like you had an amazing time doing it :) I love Indian food, but have never tried to make it… this makes me want to try!

  18. Your Indian food looks so good! I’ve never made it at home before, I don’t know why but I feel quite intimidated by the whole thing.

  19. Indian is my favorite! Way to take the plunge and cook it. It intimidates me, but this post is encouraging. Indian food seriously makes it easy to eat vegetarian. Was Paneer easy to find? Did it come in a block like tofu?

  20. I am so impressed! My half-Indian self could take a lesson here because seriously the only decent thing I can make is daal. And that’s even pushing it.

    Happy Thanksgiving Shanna! I hope you have a fantastic day!

  21. I’m glad you had a fun Indian Thanksgiving – my favorite kind! I need to try the puff pastry samosa idea…I bet it was delicious!

Leave a Reply

