Weekend of Gifts

Good morning my friends!

If you haven’t already, check out my giveaway.  You can enter to win a pretty great necklace that may be perfect for you or as a lovely gift for someone else!

Speaking of giving, let’s talk about gifts.

Gifts aren’t always the tangible, the physical, or of huge monetary value.  In fact, the best gifts, tend to be those that fall outside of the categories above. 

Maybe it’s the time of the year, or maybe it’s this beautiful gift growing in my belly, but I was reflective over the weekend Smile with tongue out

First is the gift of time.  I sort of love having my off-Fridays actually off.  It’s amazing to have that one extra day over the weekend to have a little ‘me’ time, to sleep in, to get all those things done that pile up over the busy work week. 

Another gift, is that of making new friends.  It’s not always easy making new girlfriends, particularly when you work in a predominantly male field and live in a high-tech area.  So I’m pretty grateful for becoming friends with an amazing blogger Shayla.  I feel like we’ve known each other for years and hanging out on Friday just solidified how awesome of a connection we have. 

003 (13)

Oh and yes froyo is also a gift.  We headed to ULove and their flavors are pretty damn faboosh.  I went with the peanut butter (to die for), the english toffee, and topped it with Kit-Kat, Snickers, Nilla wafers, peanut butter chips, Butterfinger, and…hmmm…that may have been it Winking smile

She also bought this adorable knit monkey cap and booties for Sawyer (and maple cookies for me!):

008 (18)

Being able to nurture others through baking is a gift.  There are few things that bring me as much joy as baking something scrumptious and sharing it with loved ones.  Shayla and I tackled Pumpkin Cinnamon Raisin Bread Pudding on Friday as well.  It smelled and tasted amazing.  I’m going to make it again on Saturday with a number of tweaks and will post the recipe then (such a tease!).

004 (18)005 (18)

Saturday Zach and I were met with yet another gift.  The gift of good friends and coworkers who hosted a joint celebration of newly purchased homes and also baby Sawyer.  I hadn’t anticipated the baby shower so didn’t bring my shower to take photos, but Zach managed to snap an iphone pic of the delicious cupcakes they had: lemon (with lemon crème filling) and mocha cappuccino.  Usually I’m a lemon person, but the mocha was out of this world good!  Thank you so much to Zach’s coworkers for hosting a fun day and all the adorable gifts! Open-mouthed smile

photo 2

The gift of seasons, and the gift of change keeps me awestruck.  I don’t know how many times this weekend I commented on just how breathtaking the trees looked.  I can easily say this time of year makes me the happiest – I’m very much like my Dad that way Winking smile

What gifts are you celebrating?

Are you in love with Fall as much as I am?

30 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

30 responses to “Weekend of Gifts

  1. One of my favorite “gifts” to give is that of baking. :) Obviously.

    Sounds like a fabulous weekend!

  2. The gifts of good friendship and support are priceless. :) Sounds like an amazing weekend and it also looks like you guys have so much love going into this little one’s life. :) Glad people are showering you with so much. May it only continue.

  3. I love the “gifts” of the season. Especially all of the time you get to spend with people!

  4. Ahh I love, love, love the monkey cap and booties! Too cute!

  5. I am definitely feeling the gift of good friends who calm me down when I get into panic mode. I’m in the process of applying to law school and my friends have been wonderful with listening to my concerns and basically saving my sanity. Don’t know what I would do without them–and my family too, of course!

  6. I love fall and think that last picture is out of this world beautiful! I love when all the trees turn beautiful colors and shades of bright red!

    It looks like you had a great weekend filled with family and friends!

  7. Fall is my favorite season…and I too love the gift of time. Yesterday I had 2 uninterrupted hours to work. Best gift ever on the weekend. :)

  8. Is it weird that I want a pair of monkey booties for myself?
    And I gave the gift of time this weekend for my favorite non-profit, the Humane Society. And almost gave my husband the gift of another dog…

  9. I started Christmas shopping this weekend and thought for once there’s nothing I’m hoping for… finding the man of my dreams and marrying him in front of our friends and family was the best gift ever!

    Loving the monkey hat and booties and don’t think I can wait for that recipe! ;)

  10. Awww girl you made me all teary eyed reading that…such a beautiful post and I could not agree more with everything you said. I am absolutely loving the friendship we’re building and couldn’t ask for a more amazing girlfriend – especially (like we talked about!) they’re quite hard to find ;) And Todd loved meeting you and can’t wait to have that Indian food double date and I can’t wait for us to plan another girl day! :) xoxoxo

    I love how you displayed the beanie and booties – too cute and I’m so happy you like everything!

    What a wonderful weekend you had filled with joy and love for your beautiful family – there’s no better gift than being with friends and just like you, loving this fall weather! :)

    • Loved meeting Todd as well — you caught a good one Shay ;)

      Seriously had such fun on Friday. Maybe Zach and I *should* buy that townhome next door..haha!

      Oh and I maaaay have already had about 9 maple cookies — so freakin’ yummy!

      Have a great day girl! xo

      • Um yes please!! We could go on hikes and bake all day long!! :)

        Yay so glad you liked the cookies! And the bread pudding is about gone already – couldn’t keep my hands off it and sooo good with coffee ;)

        Have a great day too girly! xoxo

  11. I LOVE that hat and the booties! Too adorable – you’re going to have to post a picture of Sawyer wearing them. :)

    Im in love with fall too. I love how the leaves turn color, and how much prettier the mountains look when theyre all snowy. There’s nothing better

  12. LOVE this focus on gifts!! :)

  13. That looks like such a great weekend!
    You definitely hit the nail on the head with many of those gifts, one of which being the gift of friends. Friends are just invaluable, aren’t they?
    Not that fro yo isn’t either, but ya know… ;)

    And YES, I am in love with fall just as much as you are…if not more.

  14. Awe that looks like too much fun! I’m with you. I don’t have classes on Friday and I feel like it’s gods gift to my relaxation plan. :)

  15. Awww yay for making blog friends real life friends! I swear if it weren’t for my blog I would still no NO ONE in Charlotte!

  16. Sounds like a lovely weekend, Shanna :)
    I love the gift of being around great friends. I don’t know what I’d do without mine!!

  17. Pingback: Pumpkin Cinnamon Raisin Bread Pudding | Shanna Like Banana's Blog

Leave a Reply

