WIAW: Baby Shower Edition

Have you entered my Popchips giveaway?  You have until tonight!

For this WIAW, I figured I’d highlight all the delicious food we had at my Baby Shower on Saturday.  Head over to Jenn at Peas and Crayons to join the party in the way you see fit!

wiawphotobutton

Speaking of parties, who doesn’t love one that’s all about them?

Um, this girl.

I have to say, I had some trepidation about the shower, mainly because I always hear that people think they are boring and also because I don’t like to be the center of attention.  It’s one thing to be in the limelight for a moment at a dinner party or be the focus at the front of the room while giving a technical presentation.  It’s quite another when the whole party is about you, and opening up presents.  I’m glad I only had a Bachelorette party and not a Bridal Shower on top of that.  Too much attention!

That being said, the day went wonderfully and I do think everyone had a really nice time (yay!).  I also think alcohol helped Winking smile  Mimosas anyone?

041

Because the shower started at 1p, we weren’t serving a formal lunch, but certainly plenty of snacks along with some more substantial foods like Butternut Squash Cranberry Quinoa.  We loosely followed this recipe and made adjustments here and there: Added 2 cups dried cranberries, roasted squash in olive oil and s&P (vs lemon), used green onions instead of shallots, and omitted the chives, and upped the thyme to taste.  So um yeah,  I guess a lot of changes.

027017

This is a great Fall quinoa salad, but is more on the subtle blander side.  This was probably best for a big group, but if I were to make it again, I’d probably use yellow onions, some rosemary, and tons more ground peppa Smile with tongue out

My MIL also whipped up some Palmiers (using puff pastry).  She made two kinds: Ham, Gruyere, and Rosemary; and Pesto, Roasted red pepper.  I only had the veggie and thought they were fab. They were a big hit at the shower too.

028

Of course we had tons of cheese (WI Sharp cheddar, Havarti Dill, and, Gouda) and TJ’s crackers.  Served alongside veggies (peppers, carrots, and cucumbers) with TJ’s spicy hummus. 

032

What’s a shower without the treats!?!

Since I spent a good deal of money on the custom favors (through Etsy Lori’s Place – she was fab, btw).  We really wanted to keep the angel theme going and worked to develop this design in a tasty shortbread cookie:

002020
007006

Cupcakes also make such a great shower treat, but I didn’t want to spend too much money on anything fancy, so I brushed up (err, learned) my decorating skills and came up with these:

026

Maple cupcakes!  Yum, yum, and yum.  I followed the recipe to a “T” except for using extra large eggs to add more moisture (previous reviewers said there’s were dry); I doubled the recipe and tripled the icing recipe.  Well, though the icing was beyond delicious, I had to nix it at the end because it was way too runny to use with a frosting tip.  Fail.  Sad smile Luckily I was prepared and had plain vanilla frosting on hand to which I added 1+ tsp of maple extract before using my decorating bag/tip.  They turned out great!

And being Fall and also pumpkin obsessed, I whipped together pumpkin spice cookies (1 box spice cake, 1 15oz can pumpkin, and 1+ cups chocolate chips; bake at 350 deg for 12 minutes), which also went over extremely well.

025

Of course there was present opening:

058

And games:

048

It was such a lovely time and I am so grateful for my friends and family that attended (I had a couple people from LA, FL, VA, and MA!!!) – such love Red heart

064photo(38)

030043

045040

What foods do you like to see at parties (and yes, dessert items are considered food)?

Edible favors or usable favors?

37 Comments

Filed under Baby O, WIAW

37 responses to “WIAW: Baby Shower Edition

  1. you look so cute at the shower! my parents forced me to have a bridal shower lol. i didn’t have a bach party either, i seriously hate being the focal point too! i like edible favors so i can have instant gratification ;p

  2. I’m always overly excited when there’s a solid dip (like spinach artichoke or buffalo chicken dip) and must insist there be cookies. Always!

  3. Love all the pics! I thought the food spread was perfect. I certainly ate enough to feed an army. Hehehe.

  4. I get really excited to see anything vegetarian – sometimes hard to come by! I love edible favors, all the way!

  5. Ooohhh so much goodness.
    Im always happy when there are veggies and dip – but a good dip. I hate when the veggies come with some kind of low fat crap. I want full fat ranch thank you very much.

  6. Those angel cookies are so cute! Just like you! :)

  7. I love dips, veggies and fruit at parties. Things that are super easy to eat from your lap and easy to eat when talking with a bunch of people! Your shower looks like so much fun! You looked so fab in that black dress! Glad you enjoyed your special day!!!

  8. What a wonderful baby shower and you look so gorgeous – loving that baby bump…you and Kjirsten are carrying the same way, it’s too cute!

    I too felt the same way at my bridal shower – I really do not like being the center of attention and was especially uncomfortable while opening gifts. I was even nervous at my wedding for that same reason…but once the reception got going and champy was flowing I was good to go ;)

    I like it when parties have some healthy options like salads, veggies with hummus, and of course, a sweet treat like cupcakes!

    • It can feel so awkward — I know it’s about the celebration and the attention is coming from love, but I still have a hard time with it! My wedding day I felt a bit differently — surely the ‘champy’ helped ;)

      And I agree …Kjirsten and I are carrying similarly!

  9. I like to do an assorted sushi tray at parties. It’s different and something lighter among all the delicious desserts and dips :)

  10. You look adorable in the black dress!
    I think you had such a great variety of food! I love seeing light and healthy foods, but indulgent and amazing sweets!

  11. Christine Blackwood

    Sounds like you had a wonderful shower. These are some great ideas that you shared and will help in the planning of my shower. Thanks for sharing.

  12. So cute!! I LOVE your outfit- you are one hot Mom ;)

  13. I get really weird about being the center of attention as well, but it looks like it was a great shower!

  14. Jen

    I feel the same way about showers! During my bridal shower, I felt soooo uncomfortable. The baby showers were more fun though b/c it was about the baby more than me… at least that’s what I told myself ;)

    It looks like you had some delicious eats at your shower! Those angel cookies are adorable!

  15. Those cookies are so cute! Good job on the cupcakes – I tried to decorate some myself lately and ended up having to tell everyone that my boss’s son made them. #fail

  16. omg you look SO cute! Looks like you had a fantastic time at your shower!

  17. You look soo adorable and pretty! I love all of the cute foodie things as well :)

  18. Yey!! I am so excited to see your shower pics!!! You look awesome I love that dress!!! So happy your friends came in from all over to celebrate that day with you!

  19. Shanna! You look SO cute in those shower pictures. And you have some real cupcake decorating talent. Bravo!

  20. Nette

    Fun looking party! Foods I like to see: Swedish meatballs and for desert: CaKe!!

Leave a Reply

