Pumpkin Salsa Soup and Beer Bread

Yay for bloggers Amy and Liz for getting new shoes.  Woohoo!

We’re mid-way through the work week.  Can you handle it?

I’m one of those weird people who thrive on discipline, routine, and schedules so going back to work is a good thing.  Granted, I’d like to have the freedom to take a few Starbucks breaks during the day and perhaps a 2 hour shopping lunch, but I’m thinking that’s not going to be allowed anytime soon.

But I’ve been carried along for several days by this absolutely tremendously fabulous soup I made for NYE, thanks to this recipe book:

Hungry Girl? Yep, I'm one of those

I got this as a Christmas present for my Mom and I already have a good third of the book dog-eared.  The recipes are so easy and low-cal that I’m going to make this book my  new bible.  Thanks Momo :)

Below is the recipe for the soup per Hungry Girl.  I indicate the amount I increased each ingredient to feed the NYE crowd.

  • 4 cups vegetable broth – 1x
  • 1 15oz can pumpkin — 3x
  • 1 15 oz can black beans, rinsed and drained — 3x
  • 1 cup canned sweet corn — 2.5x
  • 3/4 cup salsa — 3+x’s (I used Pace Medium Spicy Salsa)
  • 1 tbsp minced garlic — 2x’s
  • 1/2 tsp cumin — 4x’s
  • 1 tsp chili powder (mexi) — 4x

Get started with garlic and veggie broth

Place minced garlic in large deep pot (with about 1tbsp EVOO)  and heat on medium high until garlic lightly browns and becomes fragrant.  Add veggie broth and continue to simmer at low-medium heat.

Add all of your spices next.

Drink some vino so you get a thoroughly blurry pic of your Mexi Chili Powder

If you’re like me, you’ll use Mexi Chili Powder for an extra kick!

Next add your canned pumpkin.

Pumpkin added, next-up salsa!

Once your pumpkin is integrated, add your salsa and corn.  Continue heating on low.

About 20  minutes before I was ready to serve, I added the black beans and brought the soup to a low boil for about 5 minutes and then let simmer for an additional 10 minutes.

For your garnish, saute some pepitas!

sautéed pepitas fixin's (dash of Cayenne pepper not shown)

Mix approximately 1 tsp cumin, 1 tsp cinnamon, 1 tsp paprika in a small dish.  Add a dash of sea salt and a dash of cayenne pepper (more if you dare ;) )  Heat 1 tbsp of EVOO in a small skillet on low-medium.  Add your spice mixture to the oil and mix well.  Add 1 cup of pepitas to the skillet.  Cover with spicy oil mixture.  Let saute for about 5 minutes on low until you hear the pepitas start to pop (keep an eye on these so they don’t burn).  You could also roast the pepitas to!

I’m vowing to make this soup a staple in our house!

What best compliments soup?  Bread!  Let me share a recipe with you that I found from fellow blogger Di at The Treadmill Diaries.

Beer Bread: Mix 3 cups of self-activating flour, 3 tbsp granulated sugar, and 1 can/bottle of beer (I used a slightly chilled bottle of Dos Equis).  Spread over 4 bread tins that are lightly sprayed with cooking spray.  Note, the dough is very sticky/tacky.  Bake for 40 minutes at 360 degrees.  For a full loaf pan, you’ll want to bake for 50-60 min.

Easiest recipe ever!

This bread was seriously so good!  It had a subtle taste of beer, which I didn’t mind even though I abhor it because it tastes like piss is gross.  Next go around, I’m going to throw some jalepenos and green chilis in the dough and also top it with shredded mexi cheese in the last ten minutes.  Yum, right?

And leftovers still look good!

1 last savory bowl, just for meeee

Any recipes knock your socks off lately?  Share a recipe!

Are there other Hungry Girl books I should go purchase (asap!)?

33 Comments

Filed under Recipes

33 responses to “Pumpkin Salsa Soup and Beer Bread

  1. I’m a HUGE fan of chili powder. When I know other people will be eating chili I make, I have to add it later on because I like a lot of it in my bowl, and most other people are concerned about a hole being burnt through their stomachs… oops.

  2. Yum, that soup looks awesome! I bet it would be great with butternut squash puree, too. (man, I haven’t had butternut squash soup in waaaay too long!) I love beer bread- I made one with a domestic light beer and a bunch of Italian seasoning and you actually couldn’t taste the beer at all.

  3. I love soup in the winter! So nice and comforting.

  4. That soup looks so good! I have a ton of pumpkin sitting in my pantry that I havent had a clue what to do with.

  5. Baking 'n' Books

    Oh my goodness! Thank you so much for the recipe – I can’t wait to try that soup! Anything with few ingredients – that I can pronounce and buy in a regular store is good with me. I had no idea they actually put beer in beer bread!!

    Do online shopping :) I have a giveaway for CSN Stores.

  6. Baking 'n' Books

    THat’s NOT MY PICTURE!!! WordPress has me linked to this other email…I have to change it!! Weirdness.

  7. Don’t hate me….but I take 2 hour shopping lunch a few days a month :)

    I wish Costco sells this cookbook, that’s where I’ve been shopping for my cookbooks recently.

  8. Mmm, I love pepitas in soup!

  9. I love Hungry Girl! She has awesome smoothie recipes and I like her fettuccine alfredo using Laughing Cow cheese.

  10. I LOVE Hungry Girl! I tend to go through her recipe books and dog-ear about half the pages, haha. Good stuff.

  11. Oh yum!! I made a stew with pumpkin last week and was skeptical but it turned out really good. I’m sort of afraid of making my own bread but it sounds like this is a really easy one to do.

  12. Scrummalicious! I just discovered Libby’s tinned pumpkin over here in the UK. It’s pretty rare stuff here! I managed to find it next to the Herscheys chocolate in the American section of our supermarket! Score!! :-) x x

  13. YUM! Looks delish, lady!
    P.S. – I “tagged” you today. ;)

  14. I was thinking about getting that cookbook! Glad to hear it’s got a lot of good ones. I’m pumped for the hungry girl tv show to prepare this weekend!

  15. That soup looks good! I love the Hungry Girl stuff, I can’t believe how inventive they get. And I haven’t really made anything extremely awesome lately, so sad :(

  16. BEER BREAD? Can you say delicious? that looks great!

  17. I just got that book for my birthday, I have dog earred so many recipes!

  18. i have been wanting to bake beer bread for a while – i just love the words together. beer. bread. mmm.

  19. Thank you for the wonderful soup! I have the last bowl… and I’m not gonna share it! Well, alright… maybe. Thank you again. It was great seeing you!

  20. Pingback: Does a blog hold you accountable? « Shanna Like Banana's Blog

  21. Pingback: Closing the season…. « legarbagelikefromage

  22. Pingback: Five Things Friday…Survey style | Shanna Like Banana's Blog

  23. Pingback: WIA(last Saturday)W | Shanna Like Banana's Blog

  24. Pingback: pumpkin recipe roundup « Lofty Appetite

Leave a Reply

