Dark Choc Mint Blondies / Cherry White Choc Shortbread

My kitchen is being used and abused with all my baking.  My baking paraphernalia is screeching in pain from overuse, but I persevere.  My poor hands are taking a severe beating with all the dishes I’m doing and continuously washing them before prepping, rolling, kneading, decorating, etc.  Any other bakers’ hands look like crapola lately?

I’ve got two recipes to share with you.  One is suuuper easy and one a bit more challenging, but so festive!

The first is the Dark Chocolate Mint Blondies:

Blondies (pre-baking)

What you need:

  • 1/2 cup butter, softened
  • 2 1/4 cups firmly packed brown sugar
  • 3 eggs
  • 2 3/4 cups flour
  • 2 1/2 teaspoons baking powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons vanilla
  • 2 cups Nestle Dark Chocolate Mint chips

What to do:

  1. Preheat oven to 350F degrees.
  2. Grease a 9×13 pan.
  3. Combine the flour, baking powder, and salt with a whisk in a medium bowl.
  4. Cream together the butter and sugar with an electric mixer in a large bowl until smooth and creamy.
  5. Beat in eggs and vanilla.
  6. Beat in the flour mixture a little at a time until well combined, but don’t over mix.
  7. Stir in mint chocolate chips. (Or you could do half butterscotch / half chocolate for another yummy duo)
  8. Spread the batter evenly into the prepared pan and bake for 25 – 28  minutes, until golden brown and a toothpick inserted in the center comes out clean.
  9. Cool on wire rack.
  10. Cut into desired size bars.

The next recipe is courtesy of The Scene From Me.  I saw this on her blog and just about went nuts!  You can find the recipe here.

Sprinkles make everything better

A couple of things I discovered:

  1. Definitely drain (if not wash) the cherries.   If you are like me and did not do this, you’ll get a sugar build up in the shortbread which makes them want to stick to the pan.
  2. To get truly red cookies, you’ll need a lot more red food coloring than 2 drops. I used about 5 and only got light pink.
  3. Her directions suggest transferring the baked cookies from the cookie sheet to a wire rack after a couple of minutes.  Do this!  It will prevent sticking of the cookies as well as accelerate the cooling process.
  4. These taste amazingly fabulous with and without the dipped white chocolate frosting.  And I’m sure you can save a few calories by not adding that step…but who are we kidding, calories don’t count at Christmas.
  5. If you do choose to do the white chocolate dip, make sure your cookies are 99% cooled when you do this, or they will break apart (which makes for a really tasty excuse to nom ahead of time).

All in all, I thought these cookies were incredibly delicious.  BUT they were a bit ‘testy.’  I don’t know that I’ll be making them again for Christmas, but their coloring makes them a perfect Valentine’s Day cookie ;)

Oh and I also made some Cranberry Pumpkin Spice Cookies:  Mix 1 box Spice cake mix with 1 15oz can of pumpkin, add about 1 cup dried cranberries, and 2/3 cup oats.  Drop in spoonfuls onto ungreased cookie sheet.  Bake for 10 minutes at 350 deg :)

Happy baker

AND, my Pumpkin Pie cookies made another appearance — the recipe is here.

A Santa worthy cookie platter

Tonight, I’m making a new version of Chocolate Bark that should be out of this world.  And, just because I can, I’m making some more Hershey PB Blossoms =)

Sugar coma here I come!

And with that, today is my official last day of work until Jan 3rd.  We have holiday shutdown and all days from now until the 3rd are paid.  BUT I will be coming in a few days and doing some work from home.  Tis okay — I’m going to try to have a good attitude about it.

What are you going to do with your time off? I plan on more baking, some mani/pedis, shopping, wine country, some intense workouts, and hopefully a fabulous dinner or two ;)  Oh and presents…hehe I like presents.

20 Comments

Filed under Recipes

20 responses to “Dark Choc Mint Blondies / Cherry White Choc Shortbread

  1. mmm anything chocolate & mint is delicious to me!

  2. Thanks for the mention Shanna! I am glad the cookies tasted delicious for you :)

    And yes, my hands are really suffering from being in the kitchen ALOT. I should buy stock in hand lotion, ha!

    Have a great Christmas!
    Amy :)

  3. YUM!!! I am soooooo excited that some of these tasty treats will be in my possession as soon as tomorrow night. Nom nom nom. :-D

  4. Enjoy your last day until 2011! That’s an awesome break!

    Fill it with as many of those pecan pie cookies as you can… sigh…

  5. Chris Owens

    OMG You are crazy! I can’t believe how much baking you have done! I think I gave up baking for lent, ooppss, wrong holiday,
    see you in ONE week. YAY

  6. How cute are you?

    I am off until Jan 3rd as well but I too have to work from home. I’m coming to San Fran next week! Let me know if you are up for a cup of coffee??

  7. bakebooks

    Okay – I kind of hate you right now because you have OVER a week off work – paid!! I have no days off – boooo :(

    But whatever – my fault for not being a Engineer and going the medical route….boo again!

    But – I do believe those cookies are going to turn my frown upside down :) I’m totally about the Pumpkin ones though….going to get that recipe now…thank you very much ;)

  8. Girl, you are on a baking roll!!! I plan on doing all of my baking on Friday, I can’t wait! Your plans for your time off sound so relaxing! Enjoy it!! :)

  9. Wow! When can I come pick up my cookies? Ha ha, isn’t baking the best stress relief? I’m glad you get some time off, Shanna. Enjoy it :)

  10. That is a lot of baking! I hope you enjoy your time off work! I cleaned our house really good yesterday and ran errands, not the best things to do with time off work, but it feels soooo good to have done! : )

  11. Oh my my…what a busy baker you are. Can I have some pretty please? Dessert exchange?

    Glad you are finally allowed to take some time off…go run off to the wine country where they are waiting for you.

    Merry Christmas Shanna :)

  12. Courtney (Pancakes and Postcards)

    dude, that really is a santa-worthy platter. everything looks amazing!

    i just got home from being gone two years and have unlimited time off, but i’ll be spending the next few weeks relaxing (part time) and organizing and getting rid of old stuff like a madwoman (part time) to clear everything out of the house! ack!

  13. Pingback: Chocolate Dipped Hazelnut Cookies « Shanna Like Banana's Blog

  14. PEPPERMINT CHOCOLATE This is pure delight for your taste buds.

    CHERRY-MINT CHOCOLATE a burst of cherry zest

    Both are great flavour

Leave a Reply

