A Christmas Poem from Baking’n’Books

Woohoo, we made it to Friday and Christmas Eve is just one week away! 

AND I’m not wearing my crabby pants today.  They didn’t fit ;)

I wasn’t going to post, until I came across this poem from Jennifer at Baking’n’Books and it brought me a smile so I thought I’d repost it. 

(She’s pretty awesome by the way!)

‘TWAS THE NIGHT AT THE SUPERMARKET

 

‘Twas the night at the Supermarket, when all through the store

Every creature was stirring, the food was the lore;

The vegetables were stocked by the fruits with tender care,

In hopes that the mad Foodies soon would be there;

 

 

The shelled peanuts were nestled all snug in their bins,

While visions of the Nut-Cracker danced in their heads;

And Mothers with their kids, and I all alone,

Took a glance at the crowds and gave a half-hearted moan.

 

 

When in the back aisle there arose such  a clatter!,

I sprang from my spot to see what was the matter;

Away to the Bakery I flew like a flash,

Raced threw the crowds, in a mad dash.

 

 

Candy, chocolates, Turtles and pie,

Cans of pumpkin and filling all piled sky-high;

All the ingredients and items familiar by name,

Which chocolate chips and hummus tubs would I inevitably claim?

 

 

New product finds - edamame as a dip?,

Thick nestle lattes? Oh my! – I could see my future pants rip;

Peanut Butter, Almond, which would I choose?,

Oh heck, I’ll take them all – I’d have nothing to lose!

 

But alas, I had to leave, ere I drove out of sight,

With a “Merry Christmas” Shoppers, and my wallet – quite light!

;)

7 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

7 responses to “A Christmas Poem from Baking’n’Books

  1. What a cute poem!

    Happy FRIDAY!

  2. bakebooks

    Oh! I could hug you right now! I’m having an awful day – life – and this just warmed my heart. You are such a good, beautiful person I can’t even express…and I want your address! To send you some good Starbucks :) Hope you have a GREAT day!

  3. Very cute poem – I commented on Jennifer’s site as well.

    I hope you have a good Friday and a great weekend!

  4. That poem is adorable! Saving it! Have a great weekend girl!

  5. “Thick nestle lattes? Oh my! – I could see my future pants rip” after a quick read of the poem, this made me laugh and smile :)

    Have a good weekend Shanna

Leave a Reply

