Holy headache Batman!

Migraines suck :(  They really do.  I think I got my first one at 14 and didn’t realize until I was 22 that that’s what they were.  I was convinced that migraines were either mythical or just excuses to get out of work and responsibility.  I was wrong.  Today I’m experiencing a doozy.  I woke up at 4am with my head splitting and just laid there whimpering for about an hour and a half before finally getting up to take the dog for a walk.  2 Excedrin migraines and 2 Advil have done nothing for it.  Truth be told, the only migraine meds I have make me extremely, extremely ill.  Argh.  I’m really trying to plow through.  Unfortunately, a side effect of my migraines is yawning every couple minutes, blurred vision, and plugged up ears.  I’m sure I’m batting a thousand at work today.  On to the eats though…last night before heading out to my ACPWC Event (Association of Certified Professional Wedding Consultants), I made a quick Green Monster to make use of my on-the-verge-of-death banana.  Also in my GM went 1/2 cup frozen spinach, 1/2 cup Silk almond milk, and (thanks to Julie ) 1/2 cup brewed coffee leftover from the morning.    You know what?  It was quite good!  I could totally taste the cinnamon that I had put in the coffee grounds too!  I put it in a pretty glass and took 2 pretty pics with my iphone ;)   

Pretty GM 1

 

Pretty GM 2

 

Last night there was a mixer for wedding industry members where I met a couple fabulous ladies!  One of them does custom jewelery and beadwork for bridal parties and the other is a part-time DJ who also makes jewelery.  Both women were fab and I can’t wait to get some of their pieces and recommend them to my clients!!! :)   

There wasn’t a formal dinner, but a nice spread of Hors d’œuvres and desserts for tasting.  I was a good girl and just had some of these:   

Grilled veggies are the BESTEST!

 

Okay let’s be honest, I did have some vino (duh!) and a bite of a lemon bar and licked the whipped cream off a mini-cupcake ;)     

Today’s eats haven’t been so exciting as I’m preparing for my Mom and Grandma (Gma) to arrive from FL!  Yipppeeee :)    

But I want to share a simple low-cal snack with you — salsa cottage cheese!  1/2 cup non-fat cottage cheese plus a healthy dollop of salsa (make it HOT please), some ground pepper and wa-la! you have a 100 calorie snack packed with protein.    

Cottage queso

 

I’m off to nurse my headache somewhere.  Or just remove my head altogether … we shall see ;)

4 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

4 responses to “Holy headache Batman!

  1. The cottage cheese + salsa combo is so interesting!
    I love both, but never thought to try them together…hmmmmm… ;)

  2. peanutbutterfingers

    i always enjoy my cottage cheese in a sweet way but i love this idea!

Leave a Reply

